Homemade Laundry Soap – It is easier than you may think!

**WARNING:  I have When Harry Met Sally on in the background.  Quotes from the movie may appear sporadically, or not.**
Approximately one month ago my good friend took an afternoon to teach me how to make laundry soap. Today I am going to show you how to do it…. 
Supplies Needed:
1 bar Ivory soap, grated
1/2 Cup Washing Soda (Arm and Hammer, but not baking soda)
1/2 Cup Borax
2 Gallon Bucket
1 Quart Hot Water
Hot Water
Directions:
Mix grated soap in a saucepan with 3 pints of water, and heat on low until dissolved. Stir in Washing Soda and Borax. Stir until thickened, and remove from heat. Add 1 Quart Hot Water to 2 Gallon Bucket. Add soap mixture, and mix well. Fill bucket with hot water, and mix well. Set aside for 24 hours, or until mixture thickens. Stir occasionally. Store it in milk jugs or empty laundry soap containers, give it a good shake then pour.

Use 1/2 cup of mixture per load. Use the same amount in your front load washers as well.
It will be chunky. I actually use a little more than 1/2 cup when I wash, but it is cheap to make so not a big deal.

NOW – that you have the directions here are the photos of my experience.  I did very well at this project!
The supplies-  I chose to you use Dove soap.  I like the smell and I know my husband doesn’t mind it…
Here we are grating my soap
Our finished product! 
Now – I didn’t take a picture of it but I transferred all the soap to 2 gallon milk jugs.  They both were filled to the top!

(“You look like a normal person but you are actually the angel of death”  Meg Ryan as Sally)

Also –  My friend used Ivory and I used Dove.  We got two different textures.  Hers was chunky and more like jam whereas mine came out smooth like liquid laundry detergent.  We made them exactly the same way so we are assuming that different bar soap produces different consistency.
8 responses to “Homemade Laundry Soap – It is easier than you may think!

  • Letherton

    I'll have to try this Here from FF running behind this weekTake a minute to check out my blog I Have a Misikko Hana flat Iron Giveaway Going over 100 dollar package and other giveaways alsoethertonphotography.blogspot.com

  • Jamie

    I make laundry soap, but I use a dry recipe. I might have to give this liquid version a try. Thank you for sharing!

  • Kelly's Lucky You

    Hi, Morgan. I'm a new follower from Friday Follow. Well, I guess it's Sunday Follow now!I'm looking forward to reading your posts, especially as summer comes around and gardens are plentiful. I don't do as many homegrown things as I should and I know you'll inspire me.When you have a minute, stop by my blog and I hope you'll follow me back.Kellyhttp://KellysLuckyYou.blogspot.com

  • April

    How much does it cost to make?

  • Morgan

    The borax and the washing soda were the most expensive items… I think they were about five dollars a piece. The soap I always get on sale and with a discount because of coupons, so my dove was actually free. We worked out the approximate cost per load and it was a little over a penny AND the Borax and Soda last a VERY long time- at least over six months.

  • Gabrielle @ i.craft

    wow, cool! I'm going to give it a try!

  • tammy

    I use to make mine using Fels Naptha soap bars. It worked great…but then I got lazy. I know, I know…it's so easy to make, too! Thanks for giving me a nudge to make a batch. :)Stopping by from Sits to Say HI!!!

  • Jennifer

    Good to know that Dove gives you a "creamier" consistency. I have always heard to use ivory soap, but now that I know this….I would chose to use Dove.Thanks!http://thedaysofasahm.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

