Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

Cascade destroyed my dishes. We typically use the Cascade packs but we ran out and we are on a budget.  Our local CVS was having a sale on the regular Cascade powder detergent and I went ahead and bought two boxes.   I promptly went home and started a load of dishes… here is one of our bowls…

Can you even handle that?!  YUCK!

I was shocked.  I thought at first it MUST be our dishwasher.  I ran an empty load with no soap to rinse it out. Second load, with cascade and two dishes – The exact same turn out.

Well, I saw this as an opportunity to try my hand at homemade Dishwasher detergent.  I found the “how to” online and went to work…

1/2 cup Borax (20 Mule)
1/2 cup Baking Soda (the kind you cook with)
1/4 cup Kosher salt
4 packets of Unsweetened Lemonade Kool-aid (for the citric acid)

I loaded it was so excited to see the results!  AND…. It sucked. My dishes came out clean but a little cloudy and you could still feel the powder stuff on the dishes.  Don’t get me wrong, it was better than Cascade but I wanted clean sparkly dishes.

I finally admitted defeat the other day.  I was desperately trying to justify it and like the results AND show my husband he was wrong for thinking it wouldn’t be great.  I pulled out one more load of grimy feeling dishes and said “This sucks the big one!”  I went to the store today and got Gel dishwasher detergent. 

7 responses to “Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

Leave a Reply

