Thanks a lot Facebook Fan Page

 Image from Google Images

I have been blogging for some time now and I have to say I truly enjoy it. I love that people periodically read my blog and sometimes make comments.  I love that a couple of you think I am pretty funny.  That alone is a wonderful Ego trip, especially since most of my family and friends just find me annoying. 

However, as with most things, there are aspects that I don’t enjoy.  The current thing that is “rubbing me in the wrong way”  (and there is always something) is my Facebook Fan Page.  I do like that my posts are automatically published upon completion and I do like the minimal interaction that my “fans” (which are mostly family and friends that I see on a semi-regular basis that are required to join and know I will probably throw a fit if they don’t join and then continually send them Fan Page requests until they end up blocking me from their friend list) and I seem to enjoy.

What I do not like is that obnoxious “Insights” box on the left hand corner.  (if you don’t have a Fan Page then you can stop reading…or go along and watch me rant….or make a Fan Page for yourself)  It makes me feel like a bad blogger!  I get paranoid that I am not having enough interaction with my fans…  For example, right now, this morning, all my arrows are red and pointing down and have giant Zeros next to the arrows. Wow, thanks Facebook.

Thank you for that little reminder that I constantly need to be “liking” and posting amusing antic dotes about my blog in order to stay popular.  Thanks for the “unintentional” pressure of making me feel as if I add more insights to share in the comment box that people will read more instead of choosing to hide all my future posts…

Thanks for making me use so many quotation marks in this post.

I am now going to go “like” the hell out of everything on everyone elses Fan Page!  I will make their arrows go up.

8 responses to “Thanks a lot Facebook Fan Page

  • heather@actingbalanced.com

    I honestly just ignore their insights… I worried about it at the beginning, but now realize that it is only one small part of my delivery system… then again, I'm also not actively promoting the fan page except as an extra entry for people on my giveaways… if someone stumbles across it, so be it, but i'm not going to worry about what facebook thinks of my fan page šŸ™‚ I will however stop by yours and like everything!

  • Roo @ NiceGirlNotes

    Ignore the insights. DH's band has a Facebook page, and that thing is fickle. And if you like everything you're stuck with a million notifications if someone comments underneath. In other news, I'm visiting from Sits, and your blog is fantastic! šŸ™‚

  • Cindy @ Chalk it Up!

    Funny post! I think I made a fan page for my blog but I'm not really sure. I do have nine people so far that have joined. Now I feel the pressure is on to be entertaining oh no! Good luck with your fan page! You have a great blog "like" šŸ™‚

  • The Little Red Shop

    Hiya! I'm visiting from SITS..but I had to pause…and take a moment to go look at my "insights" box. I'm a big triple-zero too! Yeah! Hmm…maybe it would help if I actually ever DID a daily post. Do you feel better now? Nice gnomes.: )Julie M.ps Ha! I just saw that we have exactly the same number of followers too. That's funny.

  • Lynnie

    I feel your pain. I keep wondering who unliked me! I have complexes enough without this pressure. Great blog! I'll be back! And I'll find you on Facebook and "Like" you! How about that?

  • Jenny

    I am going to your fan page right now and likeing you! I hate that too… according to my fan page I'm a big loser. Ha Ha ! Hope you're having a great SITS day! I'll follow along!

  • Julie

    Oh my gosh, I have the same problem with my fan page!! Seriously Facebook, sometimes we don't want to have all kinds of stuff happening in a thousand places. I mean really. šŸ™‚

  • Hannah

    I don't open facebook much cause I just really don't "get it". But it is fun to check my kids' pages and see what they are up to.http://www.FunnyPhotosContest.com. Submit CUTE or FUNNY photos and tell friends to vote. $2,000 in prizes. No entry fee.

Leave a Reply

