Homemade Glass Magnets

I am about to admit something to you…. I have never made homemade glass magnets.  I could never figure it out.  Seriously.  There would always be too much Mod Podge, I couldn’t find the right picture and it took me forever to find the glass bead things.  Well, today, finally, my kids and I made the magnets.  So for those of you that don’t know how to make them here is how we did it.

Items you will need

Glass bead things – AT THE DOLLAR STORE
Mod Podge Gloss
Scrapbook paper/ pictures/ anything that you are going to want
Paintbrush
Magnets – I got mine at Wal-Mart for 2 bucks
Hot glue

 Here is some of the things we were working with.  The boys wanted animals and eyeballs so I had to find those images on the computer

Trusty Mod Podge
Glass Things – Only 1 dollar!
Now I did a rough trace of the bottom of the glass so I would have an approximation of how much to cut out
After cutting out the circle (an Exacto would have been better but mine broke in the move) apply a thin layer of the Mod Podge.  After it has been applied to the back of the glass wait a bit and apply another layer to the back.
Wait until it is completely dry and hot glue magnets to the back. These are my kids work!
These are mine! So cute and Easy!
While I was hot gluing the magnets to the backs I glanced over at “work” station and noticed flowers that I  NEVER use because I love them too much.  I had a bright idea…
I hot glued magnets on the back and made myself some beautiful floral magnets!!
There ya go! An easy and fun craft that your kiddos can help with.  Maybe not the super young kids!  I do need to give a shout out to Amy over at Mod Podge Rocks.  She did a step by step tutorial and explained to me that I was applying too much Mod Podge on my images!
If you didn’t know how to make these magnets I hope this helps! If you already did – well- sorry.
4 responses to “Homemade Glass Magnets

Leave a Reply

