March – The month that just keeps on giving.

This month has probably been one of the craziest months of my life.   I typically look forward to March because there is always something to do outside, local fairs, farmers markets, gardening, sports etc.  Well this year I was really excited because not only were we planning a birthday party for my son but baseball season began for him AND spring break hit!  Boo ya!  These were all the makings of a great month!

March Began:

The first major event that happens in March (the first weekend), my sons splits his head WIDE open on the coffee table! I don’t know if you have ever HEARD the sound of someone, or even YOUR child, cracking their head open, but it is blood curdling.  As a mom, you suck it up, put your hand on the wound to stop the bleeding until you can find a towel and calm your crying baby down….Can you invision my night?!  Thank heavens that close friends arrived to drop off their boys for a sleepover.  They helped my husband and I get a hold of the situation and rush to the ER.

10 sutures near the eye

4 hours and 10 stitches later we made it home from the ER.  The only bonus of this bloody weekend, was that fact that is was our first official friends sleepover.  My fantastic husband watched all the boys that slept over while we spent the evening at the ER.  The next morning it was all about cheerios and video games.

The following two weeks were a blur of friends at the NUTELLA PARTY, playing outside, and truly enjoying time together.  In fact, we celebrated our sons sixth birthday and had a great fun.  I didn’t spend money for a place and instead set up old school relay races.   Sack races (as seen below of the birthday boy jumping across the finish line), Egg on a spoon, tug of war, and balloon races. (The balloon race required each kid to run from the starting line, race to a chair and try to pop the balloon by sitting on it and run back)

Sack races at the birthday party

These races turned out to be a hit.  They were a lot of work for me to set up but WELL WORTH the effort!  The birthday party was a success and everyone had fun!

All this excitement began to slow down until yesterday.  My 3 1/2 year old decided that jumping off the top bunk was a good idea.  He discovered, as soon as he hit the ground, that it was a BAD idea.   He broke is arm right in two!!!

broken right arm
OUCH!  

Another trip to the ER in the SAME month!  Four and a half hours, a billion x-rays, and a little boy in a huge splint, we finally made it home.

I am venting a bit today and I am sorry!  I don’t think I am prepared for the monthly ER visits!  I was ready for sunshine and happiness this month.  I was not ready to see the same nurses and doctors within weeks of each other!  

I am REALLY praying that April will be less eventful and less costly!  Momma can’t handle too much more!!

2 responses to “March – The month that just keeps on giving.

  • bigguysmama

    Sorry to read about your little guys "adventures". My 7yo decided to use his eyebrow to land on the entertainment center when he was probably 4 yrs old. That is one of the worst sounds and sights for any parent!!~Mimi

  • Christy

    Visiting from the UBP! Sorry to hear about your ER visits. We have five boys and we've had our share of them. Stitches and staples, sprains and dislocation, illnesses… They tend to come in a series, so hopefully you won't have any more trips for a while.

Leave a Reply

