Overnight Maple French Toast

I rarely make a breakfast dish that requires being made the night before.  I am usually too tired by the time I think about it and I have never found one that sounds tasty.  Well, as I was rummaging through my cookbook cabinet I ran across a series of recipes that my amazing Sister-in-Law had sent me when I had my first child.  I decided to take a risk and make her Overnight Maple French Toast.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 Tbls butter
10 (1″thick) slices of french bread
11/2 cups milk
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups sliced strawberries
powder sugar
1. Spray a 13 x 9 pan.  In a medium saucpan, combine brown sugar, syrup, and butter.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.  Boil 1 min.
2. Pour syrup mixtrure evenly in the bottom of the pan
3. Arrange the bread slices in an even layer over the syrup mixture
4. In a large bowl, combine eggs, milk, vanilla and salt.  Beat with wire wisk until smooth. 
5. Pour evenly over the bread in pan and COVER.  Refrigerate at least 8hrs or overnight
6. Heat oven to 350.  Uncover and bake 30-35 minutes or until lightly browned
–To server- top each serving with strawberries and sprinkle powdered sugar. Makes 5 servings
I have no idea if this recipe came from a cookbook and she just sent me a few of her favorites and frankly I don’t care. She is one of those amazing people that probably churns her own butter when she is not busy finding a cure for cancer, feeding the poor or raising her four children.
Enjoy the recipe!  Super easy and delicious!
Leave a Reply

