How to make Peach Jam

How to make Peach Jam
This weekend my friend and I conquered the world of Jam.  I actually learned several tips that I know will help me in the future and I wish I knew when I first attempted Jam a few weeks ago. Armed with my phone camera I captured a few moments and I am now going to walk you through How To Make Peach Jam for newbies.
Peach Jam –
5 cups finely chopped, peeled,pitted peaches
1 cup unsweetened white grape juice
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 package – no sugar needed powdered pectin
Makes approximately 6 half-pints
1. Blanch whole peaches.  If you don’t know how, don’t feel bad, I didn’t either.  Have a large pot of water boiling and place the peaches in the hot water for a few minutes.  You will know the peach is finished when the skin is flimsy and is easily removed.  Place the peaches in ice cold water immedately.  The ice cold water stops the peach from cooking. Remove the peach from the ice water and remove the skin.
Blanching Peaches requires a boiling pot of water and a bowl of ice cold water. Blanching helps prepare the peaches for peach jam.
2. Once the you have a bowl of bald peaches you need to remove the pit from the fruit and chop them up.  You need five cups.  Your hands will be extremely slimy.

3. After you have finished chopping the peaches. Combine the peaches, white grape juice, lemon juice and NO sugar needed powdered in a large saucepot. Stir constantly.  Here is a little tip from me to you.  Just because the peaches have begun to boil, it does NOT mean it is finished.  The jam is finished when it coats the back of a spoon and does not slip right off.  This may take a little longer than “bringing it to a boil.” Just keep an eye on it.

Stir the peaches constantly while boiling to dissolve the no sugar added pectin.  Do not be worried if you boil a little longer to get the desired consistency for Peach Jam
3. Ladel the hot jam into hot jars leaving 1/4-inch headspace.  Remove air bubbles.  Adjust the two-piece caps.  Once sealed put the jars in to a boiling water canner for 10 minutes.
When the time is finished take the jars out and wait.  Give the tops some time to “pop”.  The top of the cap will be concaved in, just like a store.  The key is patience.  I found that if they weren’t immedately down I was irritated and 10 minutes later after they cooled for a bit the tops went in.
Ball Canning Recipe - Peach Jam.  Finished product.
This recipe is from the Ball Canning Book.  I felt that newbies to the hole canning thing needed a little more explanation. I know I would have appreciated it the first time I attempted jam. 
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

